Day 25 & My Nutrition Journey

bpc
Day 25 started off with a cup full of bulletproof coffee, some eggs, and roasted broccoli.

I bought around 3 pounds of raw broccoli on Thursday and finished it this morning… Granted those 3 pounds included the stems I chopped off and I cooked it, but still. I’ve always like broccoli, but I have been obsessed with it the past two weeks. I guess that’s one perk of Whole30; craving roasted broccoli and not chocolate!

It’s pretty unbelievable that I only have 5 more days of my challenge left. It’s been the easiest few weeks of strict eating that I’ve done since transitioning to clean eating. My nutrition has been a journey for a long time. I remember trying to learn and count calories in grade school and adding up my Go-Gurts, rice cakes with cheese, and whole wheat dinner rolls into my daily intake. Quantity was always more important to me up until my Freshman/Sophomore year in college.

I remember going to dinner with my dad on a Wednesday night and him telling me how my sister had convinced him to try out this ‘Paleo’ thing and how you can’t have dressings, whole wheat anything, or much fruit. Of course I was like, “psh. Yeah right, how is that realistic?! I follow The Zone Diet and feel great!” But it intrigued me to find out more about it. After he dropped me off at my dorm room, I got to my room and instantly Googled “The Paleo Diet”. After countless books, articles, and discussions, I was ready. And what a journey it has been.

CrossFit was next. Prior to starting Paleo and CrossFit, I weighed about 152. Almost 3.5 years later, I am 20 pounds heavier, can lift way more (and faster), and my clothes stopped fitting my shoulders and legs and are looser in my waist. I can’t wait to see where I’ll be in 3 more years compared to today! I am thankful every day for the knowledge I have acquired and the people’s stories that have motivated me. On that note, time to make a mini grocery list and get ready to rock this last week of my Whole30!

Oh, and I had to put some Lizzy Love in my post. Here she is with me yesterday morning on the way to the gym. She brought her two babies with her and wanted to hold them the whole way there!
photo 1

And here she is this morning, cuddled up after her Paleo breakfast!
photo 2<

Leave a Reply

