A CrossFitter’s dream weekend

Oh. my. WOD.I was looking back in my WOD journal and realized I have been the most consistent with my workouts I have ever been for the past 3 months!  I think scheduling days off instead of just winging it has helped a ton; not only that, but my rest days help me mentally and keep me wanting more without feeling burned out.  Speaking of more…

This past Saturday, CrossFit Instinct celebrated the CrossFit Games by doing “2 Girls 1 Guy”.  Here were our WODs:

We started off with the Hero WOD, rested about 20ish minutes, then knocked out Isabel.  As a group, we decided that we didn’t want to break more than 10 minutes and went right into Kelly.  Since this wasn’t a competition and was for fun, many of us did the WODs with partners or broke them down.  I did all 3 with Molly and had so much fun!  I’m not as lazy when someone else is working with me so it’s very beneficial and benefits me mentally and physically.

The beastly crew!

Caught the coaches with some post-WOD drinks haha And Molly showing off her Fit Bodies t!

After this brutal sweatfeast, I got to simmer down in an ice bath.  It was my first time ever in one, so I had no idea what to expect.  I was told the best way to do it was to just get in quick and sink down.  So I did. And it was cold as f*ck.  I felt like I couldn’t breath for about a minute and it was so weird.  After the breathtaking 60 seconds, my body went numb and it felt kind of good.  Since we did this outside, there were plenty of stares from people and a homeless guy was even creeping for a couple of minutes.

surprisingly, the ice bath really helped and I wasn’t sore at all the next day!  It was awesome until later Sunday night I started to get a wee-bit sore.  Needless to say, I would definitely take another ice bath!

Just like old times…except we are much bigger

Watching the CrossFit Games always motivates me and makes me realize how insane all those athletes are.  True freaks of nature.  Repeat champs is always awesome, but all the others that placed were pretty freakin’ sweet and I was happy to see Matt Chan finally placed!  I got to see him at the Arnold this past year and he is one chunk of pure muscle.  I would have liked to see my boyfriend, Graham, place higher but he still rocked it!  Same with all the women; WOW.  They are impressive.  I even put my computer background of a shot of some women before their workout.  Is it weird that I have half-naked beast women on my computer?

After all those WODs, we did what we do best.  Celebrate!  We headed down to Cafe Andiamo to watch more of the Games and sip on some cool drinks.  This was also a goodbye party for one of the [best] coaches at CrossFit Instinct. =(  Matt will really be missed!!!  Of course, everyone had a blast!

This is my new favorite drink- Jeremiah Weed + Diet Mountain Dew + Water = mmmmmm. Thanks to AO, this will be my main choice for the float trip!!

 

Monday morning, I got to wake up and try one of the WODs from the Games

Obviously, the weights were scaled down to us normal people.  I used 95# for the whole thing and stuck with burpee pullups.  This was a effing hard workout, but not too mentally scary since it was only 10 reps of everything.  This was my first time using 95# pounds for thrusters; I hate hate hate thrusters (who doesn’t?!) especially since I feel like they take me forever to move my 5’11” body through the full range of motion.  It was heavy but I did it! As exciting as it was, the WOD made me sore as sh*t and my tricpes and shoulders hurt to touch.  But it hurts so good.

After sweating my @ss off (literally, I was soaked), I was lucky enough to change into dry clothes, just to get them all nice and sweaty before heading into my internship.  When I walked into the double doors, I felt like I had stepped into a freezer.  Apparently, something is broken with the air and it can’t be controlled.  It literally has been 60 degrees in there for the past couple of days.  Usually I’m cold anyway, but everyone was complaining so I know it was truly cold in there.

I even had my North Face on and capris and my lips were still blue (really, I looked dead) and I was shivering.  It was colder than the ice bath!  When I was off, I sat in my car and thawed out.  Yep, it was 97 degrees outside and the inside of my car felt awesome.  If I ever got caught in a real-life situation like in the movie The Grey, I don’t know what I’d do.

Enough complaining.  Time to get ready for the next session of freezing my @ss off.  I hope they fixed it so all my freshly shaved legs don’t grow an inch of hair from my goosebumps.  It’s lovely being a girl.

 

2 thoughts on “A CrossFitter’s dream weekend

Leave a Reply

