I’m now a Wascally Wabbit…

When I was little, my mom used to always cook me, my dad, and my two sisters a whole-hearted healthy dinner.  That being said, she always made vegetables and we had to finish them from our plate before we could get up.  When it came to green beans, broccoli, cabbage, cauliflower, peas, or a few others, I had no problem chowing them down with my mouth full of braces.  But, slap some squash or cooked carrots in front of me and I would sit there forever and gag every time I tried forcing it in my mouth.

Well, almost 15 years later, I am a proud vegetable eater and my new obsession is…

CARROT CHIPS.

Unbelievable right?! I still hate steamed/cooked carrots, but the way I’ve been making them, I could eat the sh*t out of them!  And it’s super easy to prepare and you just throw it in the oven.  First, you have to be lazy and buy the pre-cut carrot chips.  Since I don’t have a mandoline (I really really want one!), this is way easier than fussing around with a knife for hours.

Then, you throw however many you want in a Ziploc bag, toss with your choice of cooking oil, add whatever spices you like (I like Mrs. Dash’s Garlic & Herb blend), and put in the oven for 15-20 minutes at 425.

Voila!  Carrot chips, scotch eggs, and homemade C-Dub Dip (aka Paleo mayo, Cholula sauce, pepper, minced onion, and garlic powder).

One of my favorite stores, The Fresh Market, has the most deceiving name.  About 1/5 of their store is healthy and fresh, while the rest is filled with tempting chocolate covered everything, any flavored chips, homemade cookies, desserts, fake-looking cupcakes, and basically anything that would keep me locked up for days with a stomach ache.  I guess a lot of it’s fresh, but when I think fresh, I think healthy.  Do you think this is healthy?

Yes.  It’s 100% edible cookie dough.  Not that regular cookie dough has never been consumed in mass amounts by me, but this is the real deal.  That’s just evil.  Cookie dough is my favorite food.  Cookie dough ice cream, chocolate covered cookie dough, Christmas Eve homemade cookie dough, Papa Murphy’s cookie dough… I could bath in that stuff.

And no, I didn’t cave in and buy it.  I was just that weirdo that stands there and gawks at all the cheat food and looks at all the nasty things in it.  Maybe the next time I lose all self-control, I’ll head back to The Cheat Market and devour this tiny cup of heaven.  But not any time soon =) Paleo Challenge is going awesome and The Cookie Dough Cafe is not going to slow me down!!!!

Leave a Reply

