Blueberries and Jelly Beans

Having less ‘real’ school work has been amazing.  People always told me to “cherish my time in college” because once I started working in the real world, I would want to go back in time.  I have never been the I-love-school type of person; I like to work, especially when it’s something I’m passionate about.  Even though I just graduated, I would not want to go back to daily classes, homework, tests, constant deadlines, and minimal income, if any (well, I’m still getting through that last part, but only a couple more months as an unpaid intern).

With that said, I have had more time to get more involved in the things I love – cooking, blogging, reading, having weekends with no homework (well, besides a weekly report due), and listening to some of my favorite audio.  Do you know who Dr. Wayne Dyer is?  You should.  My mom introduced me to his work a few years back and things have totally changed for me.  Since I have more time to actually listen to things while I’m not studying or homework, I’ve started becoming more aware of a number of things… and it feels lovely!

Here he is… Such a wonderful person.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Anyway, since most of my days start at 4am, I am back home around 3pm, at the latest.  My internship supervisor is so cool and usually let’s us leave early, so some days I’m home around noon.  On those days, I take advantage of it and head out to the pool for a bit to enjoy the rare warm weather of Illinois (and that fact that I can walk to the apartment pool!).  When I’m not prepping or cooking food, writing papers, cleaning, or doing other fun things, I’m gathering music.

I’m obsessed with music.  One of my nicknames (thanks to my sisters) is DJ C-Dub; come to find out, there actually is a real DJ C-Dub… that sucker stole my name!  The past week, I have downloaded some monstrous songs and blasted them in my car and in  my apartment.  Wanna know what I listen to?  Anything from Young Jeezy, Five Finger Death Punch, Skrillex, LMFAO, Chris Brown, Chevelle… then the soothing voice of Dr. Wayne Dyer.  If people heard all this (maybe they do), they probably think I’m an ADD music-aholic.  And they’re right.

I also just got on Spotify! Hooray!

I had a dream last night.  A dream about cheating on the Paleo challenge.  What’s wrong with me and dreams about eating bad food?  I’m not even craving anything bad and am totally cool where I’m at.  In the dream, I ate… get ready… jelly beans.  Ew, seriously?  That’s not even a food I would ever imagine slipping into a sugar coma for.  Then I lied about it and didn’t write on my recording sheet that I cheated.  I’m a lying jelly bean eater cheater.  Can you tell I have an exciting life?

One thing that is exciting is that I love my internship and working with young athletes.  There’s this one kid there (he’s probably 10 or so) who told me he was too tired to do anything because he was up late talking to his girlfriend on Facebook.  He then continued to tell me that they talked about marriage and that he wants 3 or 6 kids.  I thought it was pretty hilarious and kept egging him on, but it was kind of creepy how serious he was about everything.

Random facts of the day:

-Blueberries are my new obsession.  Expensive, but worth it if you only eat them one at a time.  I even brought them to a movie with me.

-There are killer pigeons that live outside of my window.  And they sh*t on my car like there’s no tomorrow…. and it kind of looks like blueberries.  Sick.

-My legs feel like they got beat with a bat while I was sleeping.  Thank you deadlifts, front squats, and squat cleans.

-Paleo challenge.  Almost 2 weeks down, 5 more to go.  Then time for the most epic float trip ever!

That’s all.  I have to go get ready to deal with these little athlete munchkins for the rest of the day!

Leave a Reply

