Cookin’ with my Skrillet

Mark your calendars! Paleo season is in full swing! As I said in my last blog, tomorrow is the official beginning of CrossFit Instinct’s Paleo Challenge – I’m throwing on my animal hide 60 days of hunting meat, foraging vegetables, nibbling on little amounts of nuts and seeds, and getting full of radiant health.  Okay, not that extreme but I’m excited to tackle another challenge.  Being the overenthusiastic and slightly-OCD person I am, I decided today will be the first day I stay 100% Paleo.  Simply, I have been allowing too many cheats into my mouth.  They’re sneaky like that.

Last weekend, I gave into peer pressure and inhaled some ice cream (chocolate chip cookie dough and mocha almond crunch to be exact- and it was freaking awesome) and then had a food baby for 2 days.  Later in the week, since I was already on a downward slope, I decided that some dark chocolate covered almonds would make me feel better.  WRONG.  The food baby appeared again.  Once a month, sweet cravings take over me and I am under their power for a few painful days…

But now, I’m on track and even bought Melissa Joulwan’s cookbook, Well Fed, and it is awesome; tons of easy recipes and ways to tweak everything.  I HIGHLY suggest her book if you need some Paleo-spiration.  I also bought the iPhone App, Fast Paleo for even more ideas and more excuses for me not to slip up and end up in a carb-coma.

An idea from Well Fed –
1/2 red pepper
1/2 cucumber
small handful of olives
small handful of snap peas
some banana peppers
chicken breast (cold)

Here’s a picture of one of the things I already made… Chopping, cooking, and cleaning are always done best when listening to Skrillex Radio on Pandora (hence the title; Skrillex + Skillet = Skrillet).  It automatically makes you go faster and bust out some dance moves!  Good thing I live up high and people can’t see me… I think.

It’s so good and the veggies are good alone or dipped in paleo mayo.  I usually add weird things (like hot sauce) to the mayo and use that as a dip for everything.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

cauliflower Rice

Here’s some cauliflower rice before being cooked.  This stuff is the $h!t.  This is a full head and it makes about 3-4 cups and tastes like heaven with coconut aminos.  I’ll be making a ton of this and upping my cauliflower intake for life! 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Well I made more stuff and took more pictures but my computer decided to not upload them so I guess that’s all for now.  Hopefully more to come later!

Do you hear that?  Oh, that’s just the pool calling my name.  Time to go get my dose of Vitamin D!  😀

 

Leave a Reply

