A new journey

Yesterday was the first official Monday of post-graduation life/ summer.  And what’s that include?

  • 12-weeks as an intern
  • new schedule
  • new-ish apartment (well, I moved into my sister’s while she’s in moving transition to Arizona)
  • homework…still. Thank you, teacher.
  • REGIONALS! (as a spectator, duh)
  • CrossFit Instinct 2 year party
  • FLOAT TRIP!

As for the internship, it. is. awesome.  I love the place I am at already; the people are great and I get to work with younger kids/teens and do functional training.  So fun!  The not so fun part?  My teacher is making us write reports every week to keep her updated on how things are going… I know, just plain nosey.  My schedule is total opposite than what it was during the school year (for now), so I am not starting my day until later instead of super early.  But, it’s a nice relief to be able to sleep in a bit and not get up at the butt crack of dawn to drive a van.  I don’t miss that at all.

I am missing my regular cable, though!  I can’t watch all my Bravo and Food Network shows every night :(, but I do have Netflix now, so my new thing is Queer Eye for the Straight Guy.  I’ve never watched it before so 88 episodes will keep me occupied for quite some time.  Moving is so hectic and I’m glad things worked out so I can live in my sister’s place for a couple months until I move back to Da Field, but that means: 2 girls in one apartment, both with a lot of clothes, bathroom accessories, and food.  I never thought I’d live with someone with more bathroom/perfume stuff than me (ahem, I packed a duffel bag full of smell-good stuff), but I think my sister wins on this one! (haha sorry, Liana, but you have a lot of stuff! =) Love you!)  BUT she lives at a place with a pool so you know where I’ll be on the weekends!

Since I’ve started a new schedule, it’s taking time to figure out when and what to eat.  The other day, I made a big thing of roasted root veggies and mixed it with some grass-fed beef so I can have dinner ready when I get home.  I’m starving by the time I walk in the door and if I don’t have something made, I seem to pick and snarf down all my food while I’m waiting for my real dinner to cook.  Oink oink.

Here’s what it turned out as:

Image

I used: 4 parsnips, handful of baby carrots (I hate cooked carrots but I needed to get rid of them), one turnip, 4 small beets, 1 medium eggplant, some basil, pepper, salt, garlic, and coconut aminos.  I wanted to throw more veggies in there but there was no room!  I baked it at 375 degrees for about 40ish minutes and it went perfect mixed with some ground beef!

For now, that’s all I’ve had time to make, besides some eggs and maybe chicken tonight.

Want to know something cool?  I got a new back squat PR yesterday! woohoo!  I thought that after drowning myself in alcohol and some cheats that I would feel extra achey and weak, but nope!  A combo of good energy and positive thinking helped me fight through 190# back squat for the first time!  Next goal is to get over 200#, that would be amazing.  Or get a muscle-up, like my sister did!!! yay! I’m so happy for her!

Alright, time to get my WOD on.  3, 2, 1…Go!

Leave a Reply

