Monday fun day

You know what today is?  Monday.  Obviously.  It’s also the busiest day of the week and the day to go grocery shopping.  But, most importantly, today is day 20.  Yes, that’s TWO-ZERO.  Ten plus ten.  Two weeks and 6 days.  480 hours.  28,800 minutes.  Okay, you get the point; can you tell I’m pretty stoked?

Things have been up and down with my Whole30 experience.  It started off great and I felt like things were going to be  breeze.  Then, day 13 came and my cravings were awful (it didn’t help the hormone monsters were visiting…).  Visions of sugarplums were taking over my head, but I survived.  Barely.

This past weekend might have been the easiest weekend of eating I’ve been through.  On Friday, I made a ton of veggies and cooked up some meat so I could bring them with me when I went back home for a couple of days.  Again, preparation is the key to being successful.  Something else that has been saving me is toasted coconut flakes with cinnamon.  Whoa, they are awesome.  They kind of remind me of my fave cereal Cinnamon Toast Crunch (I couldn’t tell you the last time I ate that!)

Today is also the day I usually have to make a trip to the grocery store to stock up for the week.  Ohhh it’s always an interesting trip.  I got stopped by three different people who wanted to know about my Vibrams.  One of them actually said he likes the look of them- that’s a first!  I still think they’re super ugly haha

The best part of going to the store… The checkout line.  I think the cashiers dread when I roll up to check out because they have to figure out what veggies I have and type in the code for all the separate bags.  Today I got asked what kale was and then she rang my parsnips up as turnips… close enough I guess.

I made my weekly breakfast while listening to Wayne Dyer’s “Wishes Fulfilled”.  whenever I listen to his stuff, my whole mindset changes and everything falls into place.  Ahhh, it’s like heaven.

Dinner time!  I threw together a bomb salad with steak on top.  My plate was so full that while I was eating it, pieces were falling all over me.  I’m glad no one was here to watch me eat – I probably look like a starved slob who hasn’t ever eaten.  Hey, I was hungry.  And I was trying to pay attention to my guilty pleasure TV show, Wheel of Fortune.  If I would ever get on that show, I would totally rock it.  Not to sound cocky, but I would. 😉

I just noticed that my collar bones are bruised from working on cleans today.  It looks really awkward having two dark spots there… at least it matches my bright red thumbs (hook grip, what?!).

Fact of the day:  100-calorie pack Lorna Doone cookies used to be my snack and dessert when I was in grade school/ high school.  I am so glad I have replaced them with veggies, nuts, and meat.  Although, they caught my eye at the store tonight and made me drool a little bit.

Nom nom nom nom

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

